On Music

Its peculiar that when we listen to a soft, soothing guitar string, a stunning piano arrangement, or a emotionally charged voice, our heart seems to soften and grow warmer. Why does Music have such a profound impact on human beings? It takes us to a spiritual place, a thoughtful place, an exciting realm of possibilities and hopes. Music brings to many things to the mind: memories from our past, family gatherings, the holidays, the way we feel when we are touched by a lovers’ hand, a favorite dance, a peaceful drive in a car, a crazy party, a friend or mentor, a physical challenge, and most of all, music brings our spiritual being out in the open. When I hear music, I feel an innate urge inside of me—something completely born into me, natural, sensational, electric—causing blood to move through my bloodstream and dopamine to spread itself all over my body. I feel more connected to my soul than my body. My body becomes a tool; a tool that helps me feel what is really going on underneath all the plasticity of this world. I feel closer to God than ever.

Music is part of our lives because it was meant to be that way. Without it, our lives would have no soundtrack or meaning. We’d have no way to reflect on our blessings, to celebrate each other, to fall in love, to share our experiences with the world. Music is the written word aloud. It is the powerful melody of so many lives; It is songs of lovers falling in love, it is the songs of heartbreak, it is the songs of triumph, the songs of failure, the songs of revenge, the songs of mercy, the songs of birth, the songs of death, and the songs of everlasting faith in something greater.

 

Here are some of the lyrics to my favorite songs of all time. It’s not the words that grab me, but the way they are delivered and the origin of where they came from—the experiences, the people, the thoughts, the hopes, the hearts.

 

Coldplay: “For you I’d wait, till kingdom come. Until my day, my day is done, and say you’ll come, and set me free, just say you’ll wait, you’ll wait for me.”

The Killers: “Close your eyes, clear your ears cut the chord, are we human? Or are we dancer? My sign is vital, my hands are cold, and I’m on my knees looking for the answer. Are we Human? Or are we Dancer?”

Hey Marseilles: “Science says stones don’t fly through water and souls don’t matter if you love your mother, if karma could dance she’d dance forever, why can’t you see heaven won’t wait for us, salutations and prayers are too laborious. All I want is love eternally, with your heart facing me.”

Leave a Reply

