Les Miserables

“Do you hear the people sing,

lost in the valley of the night?

It is a music of a people who are climbing to the light.

For the wretched of the earth,

there is a flame that never dies.

Even the darkest night will end, and the sun will rise. ”

Victor Hugo left a profound mark on the world of literature after his words about the French Revolution were read by Europeans and Americans alike.  Hugo’s dark and passionate novel, “Les Miserables,” has been an intriguing tale ever since.  This stunning story of Jean ValJean’s road to redemption surfaced in 1862 and has hit the big screen and stages across the world. In 1980, the film adaptations and book adaptations were finally turned into an operetta-styled musical. To date, this show brings more emotions and tears out of audience members than any other. The plot is driven by God’s Glory and the relentless faith of human kind when facing depression, bloodshed, battle, love, and loss.

When I found out I was cast in the Naples Player’s summer musical, I had no idea what I would be in for. I already knew that this was my favorite musical of all time due to my obsession with France and Schonberg’s passionate score, but I had little knowledge of how special it would be to actually PERFORM this production. At the first rehearsal, the wave of joy and gratitude hit me hard as the 45 member cast came together to sing. Hearing the vocal power and vibrations of men, women, and children singing a story about freedom, love and God’s mercy has to be one of the most humbling experiences I’ve ever had. And here we are a month later, opening night.

After having our first audience last night at Preview, it was proven to all of us that this show has a more powerful affect than we all expected. I owe a lot to this show and these people. Not only have I made friends and theatre family for a lifetime while being able perform my favorite score, but I get the privilege of sharing the stage with performing artists to share a BIGGER story. A story about triumph, failure, love, loss, honesty, humility, courage, fear, heart, corruption, struggle, and most importantly, God’s bigger picture for all of us.

Thank you to the Sugden Community Theatre, The Naples Players, my brilliant cast and directors, and our fabulous techies and costumers for making this experience so special. I will never forget you kind people or the way this experience has affected me. In the words of Jean ValJean, “To Love another person is to see the face of God.” Although I barely know most of you, I love you all and I love what this show brings to Naples. HAPPY OPENING!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Les Miserables

Leave a Reply

