Lakes and Oceans

Hello from sunny and flawless Naples, Florida!

I couldn’t be happier to be home and surrounded by the people I love, home cooked meals, blue skies, and the Gulf coast. But I’m only here for a mere 12 more hours and before I know it I’ll be on a jet blue plane to New York City, New York. I guess the true meaning of “jet setter” means that you never truly stay in one place for too long.

I haven’t been able to post for the past couple of days because, as I said in my last post,  I was unwinding in Lake Placid. The weekend was quite the “college style” getaway. We drank plenty of brews, consumed endless junk food, grilled out, shared s’mores and stories by the bonfire, soaked up UV rays, wake-boarded, and laughed while playing many scandalous card games. It was the perfect youthful, goofy weekend that we all needed to transition from school mode to relaxation mode.

On Sunday, my father picked me up from the lake house and brought me back to my beautiful hometown. I will never be able to get over the beauty of Naples and the wholeness that my heart feels when I am with my loved ones. Being held my my father and being kissed on the forehead by my mother are some of my childhood feelings that I will never stop cherishing. My family is so incredibly wonderful that it’s difficult not to brag about them or constantly advertise my love for them on a daily basis. In addition to my mother and father I have two great step-parents and four siblings. My oldest sister, one of my biggest role models, is married with a perfect baby girl. (my first niece!) My younger sister is two years younger than me, goes to UF, and is in my sorority as well–she hasn’t left my side my whole life. Lastly, my father and step mother just had twins just over a year ago. A boy and a girl. Although their age difference from me scared me at first, (I am 20 years their senior) these twins have blessed my life so much and I have become fully enamored with them. Needless to say, my siblings get me through everything and remind me every day to be thankful for family. My parents, on a daily basis, teach me that love is the most powerful thing in the world and the support of the ones you love is all you need in this short, blissful life.

For me, the most important thing about spring break is being with these people. The vacations, the memories, and the experiences are wonderful– but these things won’t fill my heart with joy. Family will. And so I will conclude this post with a heart warming quote about being yourself at home:

Home is a place not only of strong affections, but of entire unreserved; it is life’s undress rehearsal, its backroom, its dressing room, from which we go forth to more careful and guarded intercourse, leaving behind…cast-off and everyday clothing.”-Harriet Beecher Stowe

Hope that those of you on spring break are enjoying yourselves and your down time and those of you that aren’t are working hard in order to prepare for that time off! Sending love and blessings your way.

Stay glamourous.

-Kayley

Below are pictures from the lake house in Lake Placid, FL, me and my love with fresh suntans and huge smiles, and a photo my pool club (@Naples Bay Resort) in Naples, FL.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

